04.22.04

oceanic prose


god drew the ocean like a cool green bath

deeply, and with vast amounts of sodium

to aid the wounded and as i

submerged my warm body beneath

the waves filled my grey lungs

with seawater in suicide a small brown woman

pulled me from the frothy mouth

of the sea and married a doctor

to fix me. i didn't understand

until i stood with frail certainty

on the rocky beach, the wind from

the cliffs tugging at the skirt hung

awkwardly from my hips and the breeze

from the ocean kissing my face and combing

my hair. the tide rolled in great frothy

beads over the cracked nailpolish on my

toes, licking slightly and carefully at my favorite

scar on my ankle. i looked out at

her horizons, listening to the dull breathing

sound that is water sliding against water, and

decided that i was no longer angry.

the waves exhaled softly, beckoning.



boys don.t cry

X X X X X X X X