11.09.05

i'm not going back


i wake up at ten to five am
still drunk, my hands
aching, my fingers don't
work and i don't remember why
last night the show got
cancelled so we got drunk
the three of us, the way
we do every night
swerving back onto the 101
somehow we made it to a beach
he ran off somewhere towards the water
while i picked her up
her legs wrapped around my waist
tasting chapstick on her mouth,
she's laughing and i put her down
and we scream the words to
the song we always sing, the only
song i can ever remember when
i've been drinking
my guitar's in the trunk but i
don't need it, we're like broken
records, lord knows i'm weak,
lord knows i'm weak, lord knows
i'm weak, he says don't got no
quarrels with god but i do
i want to know why he made me this way
i don't deserve anything i have
or the one thing that i want
i don't remember driving back
all of a sudden i'm laying
in her bed and she's on top
of him in the other bed, giggling
and kissing him
they're talking about mexico
puerto vallarta, cancun, acapulco
and all i can remember is the
shitty border towns, my grandma
speaking gutter spanish and driving
me around in a '87 honda accord
brown women selling gum for pennies
and they're going on about
cheap tequila in the bars
she's running her hands in his hair
and i'm so fucking angry, my eyes
rolling back in my skull
clenching every fucking muscle in my body
i'm on a three week drinking streak
and i haven't told either of them
the way i feel, i keep
putting it off until the morning
when every day i climb into her bed
and she lays her head on my chest
for awhile, until the night
when i hand all the money my mother puts
in my bank account to boys with
fake IDs, who fuck the girls i kiss
i get up and leave, i say goodnight
like a sarcastic asshole
where are you-- he starts to say
but i slam the door and
beat my hands against the concrete
i guess that's why my hands hurt
i fucking love you, i say weakly
falling to my knees, my
forehead against the wall
then i gag up some bile and as it
dribbles down my chin it tastes like
rum and coke and mickey's and her

a forty ounce to freedom
is the only chance i have
to feel good even though
i feel bad



boys don.t cry

X X X X X X X X