09.04.05

LOL JK


we lay on my tiny dorm room bed
crying, having sex
it won't work
since i've moved away
"you know how i know when to stop drinking?"
i say, you say "when?" and i say
"when i feel pretty"
she touches my face
"you are pretty. i always thought
you were."
it still
won't work
and i still feel ugly
all over.
i bought you a bus ticket
and picked you up drunk
from the arcata transit center
and when you go home on tuesday morning
it's over for good.
i'm drunk now and you want me to
stop drinking because of what
it's done to your dad
he sits alone on the reservation in
canada, drinking himself to death
as i take another drink
straight from the bottle
a fifth of jack daniel's
a handle of jim beam
i feel so young
and so dumb
standing in the wind on the corner of
16th and g street
a pack of marlboro reds in each pocket
of my men's 32x34 westerns
a men's small black work shirt
staring into the sun
i swear to god it followed me here
to torture me.
i shouldn't say anything at all. i don't
make sense.
men and women and small children
float face down in twenty feet of water
in new orleans
and here i stand in california
bitching about the sunshine



boys don.t cry

X X X X X X X X