03.13.04

why every line begins with you or i


i am alone until eleven thirty

listening to a mixtape my girlfriend made me

smoking my least favorite kind of cigarettes

i was so angry when you went away

for the third time

and even more so that i couldn't explain to anyone why

you have returned again and in a sick way i miss

lying drunk on my floor smoking thin cigars

i miss wanting to die because it was something to think about

and i had someone to blame it on.

it's a spiritual sort of anger, a pure and real feeling now that i don't need the medicine

i still can't orgasm & it hurts to see another disappointed, pretty face

rising from between my legs

it hurts to pretend that an old body is lying next to me in bed

it hurts that i have no specific memories of making love to you

just of cookie dough &your dad's shitty beer

of looking over the pictures on your wall as you got dressed for bed

of snarling through my drunken tears at your head on his neck

of your slow lips parting to receive the smoke, his tongue

superior to my own i used to scratch my face and hate you

the day we decided to stop being friends i slumped into the couch and cried as my mom explained that nothing stays a certain way forever and the next day when i took the number sixty-three bus home and threw up in someone's gutter i promised myself that i would never ever let myself think anyone was beautiful again

curled up in a hotel bathroom in madrid, drunk and wide-eyed i realized that if you asked me to slit my own throat

i still would.



boys don.t cry

X X X X X X X X