06.04.04

that's not what i meant


"I saw you in New York a handful of times, walking fast in the East Village."


Pretending to draw landscapes while you stand in front of

me, waving your hands around and letting everyone know

you're writing a new poem. You're mediocre at best,

mostly plagiarizing your idols, pinning me down with

those big Irish arms and hands. You call them

lover's hands, and I wonder if it was love you felt

when they were wrapped around the necks of the two

women you killed, when you snapped their thin necks

like cruel pencils.

Yes, I suppose it was love you were overwhelmed with

when you hung their lifeless bodies from the beams

in the ceiling and extended those hands, those

lover's hands to receive your payment from a coughing

Italian who is always patting your daddy on the back. And it

is these hands that hold down my squirming grey wrists as you

grind your dick into my motionless lifeless dry cunt

through my levi's as you kiss quickly my neck and breasts

and I just stare straight into your ceiling hearing nothing

but the smacking of your cold hard mouth in the midst

of the silence of death.


She's high on amphetamines with a cigarette dangling

from her imitation Angelina lips, digging anxiously

through her fifty-five dollar purse. She looks up

and asks if I have a cig. No, but you do. Shit,

she says, noticing what's in her mouth and lets out

a grotesque snort, eyes dilating wildly. She lights it

and takes a long drag, looking somewhere far away over

my shoulder and saying slowly through the smoke that drugs

are really

expensive.


I'm a lonely painter. I live in a box of paints.

She likes to kiss me all over and when she's done she

feels guilty because she's twenty-two. She goes

to get me another beer.


A boy who knows what to do with his guitar.

It was worth the sweat and being sucked beneath the all-stars of hipsters

in ironic seventies glasses and thrice tees. A boy

with a GIRLS. FREE KISSES sign. His lips were dry and tasted

like tequila.


You've switched to regular cigarettes. You keep telling

me I turned into Lauren. I swear I didn't. I even wrote it--

"does the victim become the oppressor."

underneath it a boy I used to kiss two days a week

wrote "fo sheezy."

Besides, I say. I never left you for a boy.

You put on your hat and turn away from me.



boys don.t cry

X X X X X X X X